[Shutouts] [Goalie of the Week] [Goalie of the Month] [Articles] [Interviews]
[Wall of Fame] [Superstitions] [Transactions] [Fun Stuff] [Home]


Peoria goaltender
is the
ECHL Goaltender of the Week
for March 21-27, 2005

ECHL Press Release

Michaud, who won the honor for January 31-February 6, joins Mike Minard of Columbia, Dany Sabourin of Wheeling and Nick Boucher of Pee Dee as a two-time winner in 2004-05.

The 5-10 and 177-pound Michaud, who was runner-up for Saver of the Month in February, was 3-0-0 with a goals against of 1.32 and a save percentage of .953. After making 22 saves in a 5-3 win against Johnstown on March 22, Michaud had 37 saves and stopped all four players in a 2-1 shootout win against Wheeling on March 25. He ended the week making 22 saves in a 3-0 win against Wheeling on March 26, his league-leading sixth shutout of the season. The six shutouts is a Peoria team record for most shutouts in a season. The 28-year-old from Selkirk, Manitoba is 16-2-2 in his last 20 games and overall is 26-10-4 and ranks second in the league with a goals against of 1.96.

Under contract to Worcester of the American Hockey League, Michaud was named the ECHL Goaltender of the Year in 2002-03 with Peoria after going 20-4-4 with a .927 save percentage and a goals-against average of 2.58 goals-against average. In his first professional season in 1999-2000, Michaud was 10-17-5 record with a goals-against average of 3.86 and a save percentage of .890 in 38 games with Syracuse of the American Hockey League. On October 28, 1999, Michaud made his NHL debut with Vancouver , allowing four goals in a loss to Phoenix.

Runners Up: Sean Fields, Gwinnett (2-0-0, 1.49 GAA, .958 save pct.), Phil Sauve, Mississippi (2-0-0, 1.50 GAA, 944 save percentage) and Phil Osaer, Texas (2-0-0, 1.50 GAA, .967 save pct.).

Also Nominated: Peter Aubry (Alaska), Kelly Guard (Charlotte), Tyler MacKay (Fresno), Marc Magliarditi (Las Vegas), Nathan Marsters (Louisiana), Frederic Cloutier (Pensacola), Barry Brust (Reading), Eddy Ferhi (San Diego) Justin Eddy (South Carolina), Scott Fankhouser (Toledo), Andrew Allen (Trenton) and Andy Chiodo (Wheeling).

Previous Winners

March 14-20 Barry Brust - Reading Tyler MacKay - Florida
Phil Sauve - Mississippi
March 07-13 Sean Fields - Gwinnett Trevor Koenig - Atlantic City
Scott Fankhouser - Toledo
February 28-March 06 Alex Westlund - Charlotte Frederic Cloutier - Pensacola
Barry Brust - Reading
February 21-27 Jeff Drouin-Deslauriers - Greenville Peter Aubry - Alaska
Brett Jaeger - Fresno
Andrew Allen - Trenton
February 14-20 David Cann - Johnstown Brett Jaeger - Fresno
Jeff Drouin-Deslauriers - Greenville
February 07-13 Mike Minard - Columbia Peter Aubry - Alaska
Jeff Drouin-Deslauriers - Greenville
January 31-February 06 Alfie Michaud - Peoria Logan Koopmans - Toledo
Joe Exter - Wheeling
January 17-23 Mike Ayers - Dayton Lance Mayes - Alaska
Matt Underhill - Mississippi
January 10-16 Jamie Hodson - Fresno Dany Sabourin - Wheeling
Alfie Michaud - Peoria
January 03-09 Sebastien Centomo - Las Vegas Randy Petruk - Bakersfield
Scott Fankhouser - Toledo
December 27-January 02 Jake Moreland - Atlantic City Rob Zepp - Florida
Alfie Michaud - Peoria
December 20-26 Frederic Cloutier - Pensacola Mathieu Chouinard - San Diego
Matt Underhill - Mississippi
December 13-19 Mike Morrison - Greenville David Currie - Johnstown
Dany Sabourin - Wheeling
December 06-12 Nick Boucher - Pee Dee Olivier Michaud - Long Beach
Kirk Daubenspeck - South Carolina
Jason Stone - Victoria
November 29-December 05 Mike Minard - Columbia Jason Saal - Augusta
Chris Beckford-Tseu - Peoria
November 22-28 Nick Boucher - Pee Dee Frank Doyle - Idaho
Marc Magliarditi - Las Vegas
November 15-21 Logan Koopmans - Toledo Kelly Guard - Charlotte
Dany Sabourin - Wheeling
November 08-14 Cody Rudkowsky - Reading Jake Moreland - Atlantic City
Randy Petruk - Bakersfield
November 01-07 Dany Sabourin - Wheeling Chris Madden - Long Beach
Todd Ford - Pensacola
October 25-31 Dany Sabourin - Wheeling Peter Aubry - Alaska
Maxime Daigneault - South Carolina
October 22-24 Randy Petruk - Bakersfield Alex Westlund - Charlotte
Chris Madden - Long Beach
Andrew Allen - Trenton